The Governments of Israel- 13th Government -January 12- 1966-
Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs

 The Governments of Israel- 13th Government -January 12- 1966-


13th government of Israel
January 12, 1966 - March 17, 1969

Levi Eshkol, Prime Minister and Minister of Defense

In photo, right to left - seated: Abba Eban, Foreign Minister; Zalman Aranne, Minister of Education and Culture; Haim Moshe Shapira, Minister of Interior; Zalman Shazar, Third President; Levi Eshkol, Prime Minister and Minister of Defense; Behor Shalom Shitrit, Minister of Police; Pinhas Sapir, Minister of Finance

Standing: Haim Zadok, Minister of Trade and Industry; Israel Galili, Minister without Portfolio; Mordechai Bentov, Minister of Housing; Yaacov Shimshon Shapira, Minister of Justice; Haim Gvati, Minister of Agriculture; Israel Barzilai, Minister of Health; Yosef Burg, Minister of Social Welfare; Yigal Allon, Minister of Labor; Eliahu Sasson, Minister of Posts; Moshe Carmel, Minister of Transport; Zerah Warhaftig, Minister of Religious Affairs; Moshe Kol, Minister of Tourism

Note: On June 4, 1967, Levi Eshkol formed a National Unity Government, co-opting Moshe Dayan as Minister of Defense and Menahem Begin and Yosef Saphir as ministers without portfolio.
Eshkol died in office on February 26, 1969 of a heart attack; Golda Meir served as acting Prime Minister until the formation of the 14th Government on March 17, 1969.

Press for print versionPrint version
Send To Friend